Posted by: Deb Henry | 04/02/2012

I am running for elected office!

I am running for Salt Lake County Council in District 4 which spans the east bench of Salt Lake County, Utah from Federal Heights (in SLC, near the University) to Cottonwood Heights, Utah.

I have been chairing a committee to get more women elected in the State of Utah and it was brought to my attention that Jani Iwamoto decided not to run again with very little time for our team to find a capable, female replacement. After strong encouragement from my community, I decided to run in order to ensure women, mothers and people of my community access to their voice being heard on the council. We need voices on the council who will use their position to open up the conversation about what is best for our county to everyone who lives here, not just their friends. You can learn more about me at my website and on the Facebook page I link to at the bottom of this post.

The first hurdle to my election in November is the Salt Lake County convention on April 14, 2012. There are 4 candidates currently running. I need to be in the top 2 after the first vote, then I need 60% after the second vote — or there will be a THIRD vote. If I do not get 60% of the vote at that point, the race goes to an expensive primary (which will be muddied with corporate money, thanks to the influence of Citizen’s United in our election process). I hope to have the 60% of the vote by the end of convention on Saturday — so I will need your help talking to people at convention to make sure that they understand the process. Contact me on my website if you’d like to volunteer. PLEASE MAKE SURE DELEGATES KNOW TO STICK AROUND FOR THE SUBSEQUENT VOTES! After I make it through the convention this Saturday, everyone in District 4 will have the opportunity to vote for me in November.

Like my Facebook Fan page to get updates on the campaign.

Here is my website with a place to donate. Please make a donation if you believe in our ability to change the world together.

“You cannot be… an active spectator. We have too many high sounding words, and too few actions that correspond with them.” – Abigail Adams

See you this Saturday, April 14, 2012 at Murray High School for the convention!

Best,

Deb

Leave a Reply

Categories

