Posted by: Deb Henry | 03/04/2010

9/11 + Ignite = Worlds Collide!

Before I present at Ignite Salt Lake tomorrow, I’m going to be introduced.  I was asked to answer some questions as fodder for this intro and I brought up 9/11’s impact on my life.  I’m not sure if I should be mentioning it to this crowd, but it has had a monumental impact on me… and it’s a unique experience…so I threw it out there.  Maybe they won’t even mention it.

Buildings falling down on innocent people made me an engineer. It showed me a side of my father and other firefighters that I hadn’t truly appreciated until that moment.  I felt a community unity on such a level that it was almost religious. I’m not sure if anyone will understand the magnitude of the personal experience, but it’s a part of who I am and who I want to become.

Jon Stewart did a great job expressing part of it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

